As you may have noticed, the fall ARIN meeting is just around the corner and that, of course, means it’s election time again. I’m pleased to be able to tell you that we have another great slate of candidates this year. As always there are three distinct elections happening; one for the Board of Trustees, one for the Advisory Council, and one for the NRO NC.

UPDATE: Election results are available at:

Board of Trustees

There are two spots on the Board up for grabs, with the following seven candidates vying for them:

Paul Andersen of Egate
  • Ron da Silva of Time Warner Cable
  • William Herrin of ITT Exelis
  • Aaron Hughes of 6Connect Inc.
  • Martin Levy of Hurricane Electric
  • Dave Siegel of Level 3
  • Josh Snowhorn of Cyrus One

Paul Anderson is the only incumbent running, it appears that Scott Bradner will not be seeking re-election. This really is a shame as Scott has been on the Board since it was founded in August 1997. More than just time, Scott has been instrumental in ensuring that ARIN maintain its role as a beacon of openness and efficiency in Internet governance. He will be sorely missed by all.

Advisory Council

Five seats open up on the AC each year and this year we have ten great candidates:

  • Jesse Geddis of LA Broadband LLC
  • Frank Hoonhout of State of Oregon
  • Stacy Hughes of tw telecom
  • George Morton of Madisol
  • Milton Mueller of Syracuse University School of Information Studies
  • Brandon Ross of Network Utility Force
  • Bill Sandiford of TELNET
  • Heather Schiller of Verizon Business
  • Rob Seastrom of Time Warner Cable
  • John Springer of Inland Telephone

The four incumbents seeking re-election are Stacy Hughes, Bill Sandiford, Heather Schiller, and Rob Seastrom. Chris Morrow is leaving his seat uncontested.


Finally, there are two candidates for one seat in the NRO NC election:

  • Andrew Dul of Cascadeo Corporation
  • Louis Lee of Equinix Inc.

Louis Lee is the incumbent.

Vote Early, Vote Often

There are some important dates to keep in mind for these elections:

  • 25 August 2012 – You must have been an ARIN general member in good standing on this date to vote in the BoT and AC elections.
  • 10 October 2012 – This is the final day to establish voter eligibility. For the BoT and AC elections, this means setting a valid DMR for your organization with a name and personalized email address. For the NRO NC election it means either setting a DMR or registering for either the NANOG 56 or ARIN XXX meetings.
  • 17 October 2012 – Voting opens for the NRO NC (at 0900 ET).
  • 24 October 2012 – Voting opens for the BoT and AC, voting for the NRO NC closes (at 1700 ET).
  • 3 November 2012 – Voting for the BoT and AC closes (at 1700 ET).

For more information be sure to check out ARIN election headquarters: That’s where you can read candidate bios and read and/or post statements of support. Also, that whole DMR thing is super important if you want your organization to vote (and I know that as a responsible netizen you do) so if you have any doubts about it, email [email protected].

That’s all for now – I hope to see you in Dallas!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.